Saturday, the 1st of May, 2010

1

May 2, 2010 by greenhouse04

8:22 a.m.   I wake up.  I slept in!  Ellie is standing outside the bedroom door, and I greet her with a big smile.  I’m excited about today . . . the kids will leave for a visit with their parents at 11:30, and I can’t wait to get a bunch of stuff done.  I’ve been looking forward to the break all week!

9:30 a.m.  The kids and I go outside.  The weather is beautiful – cool, sunshine, and slight breeze.  I pull Jake around the garden in the little red wagon.  I’m enjoying the sight of the garden!  We got it all planted yesterday.  The potatos, onions, garlic and asperigus have now been joined by carrots, okra, tomatos, zucchini, yellow squash, cantelope, and watermelon.

I’m not enjoying what I’m hearing, however.  Ellie is over at the swing, demanding in a shrill voice interspersed with screaming fits that I come and push her.  I let her scream for awhile, and after she calms down I go and push her on the swing.  While we swing, I watch Jake wander around exploring the ground.  At one point, he sticks both hands in his pockets and walks a ways.  So cute!

10:30 a.m.  With the kids’ visit coming quickly, we stop swinging and go in for a bath.  They won’t be home till 7:30, and bedtime is at 8, so I decided to get the bath done early.

11:00 a.m.  We’re in the middle of the bath when Mr. looks in the bathroom door.  I ask him if the family social worker called about transportation for the kids.  He says that yes, she called, and . . . “brace yourself.  The visit was canceled.”  I look at him with disbelief.  “You’re joking.”  I ask him that a few times before it sinks in that no, he’s not joking!

11:20 a.m.  After getting over my initial sad disappointment, Mr. and I readjust our expectations for the day.   This is a good opportunity for me to practice letting Jesus be all I need, even when life doesn’t turn out as I would like!  It’s also another lesson on the reality of foster parenting – nothing is sure, nothing is stable, and you better expect the unexpected.

Then we go back into the bathroom where the kids are still in the bath to find bath water all over the floor, soaking the rug.  The kids get a brief, wet time-out.

3:00 p.m.  I get a bit of a break while Mr. takes the kids down the road to the cemetary.  When they return, Mr. reports that they found two different types of cactus, a giant anthill, and gopher holes.  They also learned that “it’s impolite to take flowers from dead people.”  🙂

3:30 p.m.  We head down the road to Walmart – 35 minutes away.  Mr. reads me tomorrow’s sermon as I drive, since I’ll miss it to be in the nursery.  We decided to go to Walmart in hopes of seeing the kids’ mom, who works there.

4:15 p.m.  We’ve been in Walmart a few minutes, when we find the kids’ mom!  It’s great to see her face flush with pleasure at the sight of little Ellie running up for a hug.  She kisses them both, then thanks us for coming.  “It’s the bright spot in my day,” she says.

6:00 p.m.  We make it home with groceries and a few flowers for the front flower bed.  Poor Jake’s not feeling well and running a temp.  I quickly heat up leftovers for supper – meatballs, etc.  Ellie loves my meatballs!  She quickly puts away five of them, no problem!  While I’m working, Ellie practices drawing her S’s, and also makes some hearts and a spider, which she proudly shows me.

6:45 p.m.  Jake finally says “napkin!” – causing us all to rejoice!  He’ll often point to a napkin and say “Dat!”  Mr.’s been trying to get him to actually say the word, and till now he’s stubbornly refused.

7:00 p.m.  After supper, I brag to Mr. about Ellie’s new skills at drawing (before starting preschool she had no interest in drawing or coloring).  It’s so cute to see her little face light up with pleasure, and she bursts out, “You make me happy!”

10:18 p.m.  The credits for “The Man from Snowy River” are playing as I finish this post.  Mr. is talking about state debt, taxes, etc.  Only a few words are sinking in.  I should’ve been in bed by now.  Despite the initial disappointment, today has been an ok day.

One thought on “Saturday, the 1st of May, 2010

  1. Autumn says:

    But the dead people don’t need the flowers….

    😉

Leave a Reply

