Two New Children

Leave a comment

December 6, 2010 by greenhouse04

Yes – since I wrote last we have two new children!  (Wow, I’m not very good at keeping this blog current!)

“Eddie” arrived on October 8, and “Emma” arrived on November 4.

I was not feeling well on Thursday, Oct. 8 at 12:30, and was lying on the couch trying to take a nap when the phone rang.  Mr. answered it, and I could tell right away that it was Jocelyn, our Case Worker. I could also tell pretty quickly that she was asking us about a child.

That afternoon was agonizing.  We had just said goodbye to Jake & Ellie two months earlier, and we were enjoying our renewed non-parent state.  I had lots of plans of projects I wanted to complete this fall, and we were intending to wait on taking more children until the spring.

Our caseworker didn’t know the child’s name, just that he was a 2 1/2 year old boy currently in the emergency shelter in town.  He was possibly adoptable.

After talking, praying, going in circles, imagining all possibilities, I finally called my parents to ask for their advice.  My dad immediately said “go for it!”  His decisiveness nearly put me in tears, and convinced me that we should say yes.

That night we began to mentally readjust ourselves to the though of parenthood, and the next day, at 4:10 p.m., “Eddie” arrived.  Ten minutes later Mr.’s parents and brother arrived for the weekend!

It was a great weekend.  We were all amazed at Eddie’s quiet, well-behaved manner.  I was thrilled to find that he could entertain himself!!  (I will write more about Eddie in another post)  Mr.’s mom taught Eddie to call me “Mommy Reesa.”  He naturally began calling my husband “Uncle.”  And thus began the slow process of becoming adjusted to one another.

It was EXACTLY 4 weeks later, on Thursday, Nov. 4 at 12:30, that we were called about another child.  Our caseworker knew absolutely nothing about this baby, except that he or she was born Monday, Nov. 1st to a mother who tested positive for drugs.  It looked like a pretty positive adoption possibility.

This decision was much less agonizing.  At first I was pretty sure I was going to say no.  We didn’t know if he or she had any drug withdrawal symptoms (which can be pretty awful), and we weren’t prepared to take a newborn knowing NOTHING about him or her.

Then we heard that he or she was being discharged from the hospital a day early and sent to the emergency shelter, which was a good sign that he or she was doing very well.  After hearing this I decided that if the baby was a girl, I’d say yes.

Well, Miss Emma certainly was a girl!  We said yes around 2:30 that afternoon.  Eddie arrived home from a visit, and an hour later we put him back in the car and headed to town to meet our new little girl.

She was so tiny!!  At only 6 pounds she was a perfect, quiet, sleepy little doll.  Yes, she slept all the time and rarely cried.  Miraculously, she has no signs of drug withdrawal.  (I will post more about her later, too)

I’ve been tired, busy, and perhaps somewhat shell-shocked for the past 5 weeks, but having so much fun!!  I love both these kids dearly.  I’m often scared at how much I love them, because we don’t know if we’ll be able to keep either of them.  I pray every day that we can adopt them, but we won’t know until April (Eddie) and May (Emma).  Until then, I’m enjoying every day with these little gifts from God!

Leave a Reply

