Lost Boy

Leave a comment

January 13, 2011 by greenhouse04

It seems like the longer time passes since Jake went home, the more I miss him.  He and I had a strong bond – we understood and enjoyed one another.  He was such a cutie!

I’ll have flashes of Jake-memories.  Like when I’m drinking the cereal milk from my bowl I’ll remember how cute he was as he drank his, so careful not to spill and with a mischievous glint in his eye.  When I pick Eddie up from a visit or something, I’ll remember how Jake would yell with glee when he’d see me and run for a hug.

Most times, I think about him at night when I’m lying in bed.  I can hear him calling from the next room, “Ee-sa!  Eeee-sa!” or saying in a mournful voice, “bottle, bottle!”  I can feel him run and grab my leg when he saw me again two weeks after returning home, or feel his arms around my neck and his head on my shoulder as I said goodbye for the last time.

And it probably was the last time.  I don’t know if I’ll ever see him again.  I stopped by his house visit back in September, and they had moved to Oklahoma.  I haven’t heard from them since.

And that’s what I’m most sad about – that he thinks I abandoned him.  After all, I was his “mommy” for six months, and now I’ve dropped out of his life completely.

Lord, take care of my little lost boy.

Leave a Reply

