The Seeds I Sow

Leave a comment

June 8, 2012 by greenhouse04

My son Eddie is becoming interested in seeds. One of the make-believe games he likes to play is that he’s a seed. I plant him on the couch under a blanket, water him for awhile, then he pops up as some kind of plant. He’s usually a tomato or sunflower, and I pick him and carry him to my kitchen and eat him. Then we do it all over again.

I’ve become more interested in seeds lately, too. Not the seeds that are growing in my garden, or even the make-believe seed named Eddie that I plant over and over on my couch, but spiritual seeds in the hearts of my children. I have realized in a big way that I plant seeds in them by the words they hear from my lips, the looks on my face, my actions and attitudes.

So while I watch Eddie “grow” on the couch as a make-believe tomato, I’m praying deep down that he and Emma would grow into a man and woman of God.

What a big task! Where do I get these seeds? From the Godly fruit I’m bearing in my own life! I have to be the very fruit I hope to see in them. I pray that the seeds I plant in my children would be ones of

love . . . not distain
joy . . . not worry
peace . . . not strife
patience . . . not impatience
kindness . . . not indifference
goodness . . . not sinfulness
faithfulness . . . not falseness
gentleness . . . not harshness
self-control . . . not self-indulgence

I could add lots of “seeds” to the list – seeds of humility instead of pride, wisdom instead of foolishness, thankfulness instead of discontentment. Most of all, though, I want to plant seeds of faith and Christ-likeness: faith that God is, that His promises are true, and that He does reward those who earnestly seek him; Christ-likeness in following the Father no matter what while saying “no” to the flesh.

For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life. And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.
Galatians 6:8-9

These fruits have to be realities in me. I’ll never sow a handful of perfect seeds – there will be seeds that might produce weeds in the mix – but the more I pull the weeds in my own life and give room for good fruit to grow, the more good seeds I’ll plant in my kids’ lives.

But all I can do is plant seeds. I can’t make sure the ground is fertile enough to receive them, and I definitely can’t make them grow.

The point is this: whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows bountifully will also reap bountifully. Each one must give as he has decided in his heart, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that having all sufficiency in all things at all times, you may abound in every good work. As it is written, “He has distributed freely, he has given to the poor; his righteousness endures forever.” He who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will supply and multiply your seed for sowing and increase the harvest of your righteousness.
2 Corinthians 9:6-10

I’m so thankful that I have the Master Sower on my side. He will bring the increase.

Leave a Reply

