A Christmas Card to Birthmom

Leave a comment

December 31, 2012 by greenhouse04

For the second Christmas, Eddie sent a card to his birthmom. “Mama J.” emailed us a few days later to say she loved it, and when would she get to see her son again?

If I was Mama J., I would have loved it, too.

On the front of the card was a handprint Santa saying Ho Ho Ho. Inside it said Merry Christmas. Underneath I wrote a short letter with Eddie dictating. He said (with some idea help from me) “I hope you have a good Christmas. I like playing with my new tornado and race track.” Then, he told me to write “Thank you for living at your home.” I pondered that line for a moment, then it dawned on me what he was trying to say.

“You mean, ‘Thank you for living with me in your home when I was a baby?’ Do you want to say ‘Thank you for taking care of me when I was a baby?'”

“Yes, ‘Thank you for taking care of me when I was a baby.'”

A few months earlier I had told him the story of his birth, first two years, and adoption. I had drawn a picture of his first home with Mama J. – a brick apartment building. I drew pictures of him learning to sit, crawl, and walk, all with Mama J.’s help. I told him of how she had taken care of him – fed him, changed him, held him. It means a lot to him to know that he was once a baby, and that someone had cared for him.

On the page opposite his little letter to his birthmom, he wrote a big “I love you” all by himself. Then he wrote his name. Pretty precious!

Leave a Reply

