Come and See!

1

March 21, 2013 by greenhouse04

One of my daughter’s favorite phrases is “Come and see!” She’ll often run into the kitchen where I’m working, wave her arm in a vague resemblance of a “come here” gesture, and say excitedly, “COME N SEE!! COME ITH ME!!” I’ll drop whatever I’m doing and follow her, her little legs pumping, to one of the bedrooms down the hall. Almost inevitably, one of her little stuffed animals will be wrapped in a blanket and laying on a pillow, “sleeping.” She’ll go to the animal, gather it in her arms saying “get up!”, and croon over it in a motherly fashion while I say, “so precious!” (Not meaning the animal, however!)

I was listening to a song this morning and heard this same phrase, “Come and see.” I was immediately reminded of Emma, her cute voice and enthusiastic gestures, her delight in sharing an experience with me that brings her such joy. As I listened to the song, I heard of something that has deep meaning for me. So, in the spirit of my daughter, let me also share them with you. Come and see. Come with me.

Come and see, look on this mystery:
The Lord of the universe nailed to a tree.
Christ our God spilling His holy blood
Bowing in anguish His sacred head.

Sing to Jesus, Lord of our shame
Lord of our sinful hearts.
He is our great Redeemer.
Sing to Jesus, honor His name.
Tell of His faithfulness, pouring His life out unto death!

Come, you ill, and He will give you rest
Come, you who mourn, lay on His breast
Christ who died, risen in Paradise
Giver of mercy, giver of life!

Sing to Jesus, His is the throne
Now and forever,
He is the King of Heaven!
Sing to Jesus, we are His own.
Now and forever sing of the love our God has shown!

– Fernando Ortega

Come and see, look on this mystery: Lord of the universe nailed to a tree.

Wow, how my heart is stricken, humbled, filled with gratitude.

And I am asking you to come and see.

Like Philip, when he told the skeptical Nathaniel to “come and see” Jesus, the man he had decided to follow.

Like the Samaritan women who had failed again and again to live up to the standards of the “religious” in her drive to find love, inviting the people of her town to “come, see a man who told me all that I ever did. Can this be the Christ?”

Like the angel telling the disciples to “come and see” the place where Jesus’ dead body used to lay, the body that has risen and defeated our enemy, death.

Like them, I ask you to come and see this Jesus. He is found as I read His very words on the pages of scripture. He is found as I lift my eyes to Him, standing before the throne of God in heaven. He is there right now, praying for me, pleading for me, justifying me to the Father despite my selfishness, pride, weakness, and failure.

He is alive. He ever lives to love me. He loved me enough to die for me.

Come and see, look on this mystery: Lord of the universe nailed to a tree.

One thought on “Come and See!

  1. scriptordeus says:

    Beautiful! I’m so thankful I “came and saw” Jesus many years ago, and I’m seeing Him still, all around me.

Leave a Reply

