Childhood Cancer

Leave a comment

October 1, 2013 by greenhouse04

I recently became aware for the first time in my life that September is Childhood Cancer Awareness Month. I don’t want September to completely pass away without trying to pass this awareness on.

I have an acquaintance from college days whose son has cancer, and through following their family’s story I’ve also come across the stories of dozens of other families affected by childhood cancer. While reading these stories I have wept, grieved, and been transfixed by the devastation and heartbreak these families have faced, and also by the hope that lives on in their day-to-day lives.

These stories have hit very close to my heart because I have two children who are the same age as many of the afflicted children. I love my children dearly and cannot imagine what I would do if one of them was diagnosed with cancer.

These stories also affect me deeply because they remind me of the year before my children were adopted, when we didn’t know what their futures held or if they would stay in our family. I hope no one is offended by this comparison, because the fear faced by Cancer Parents is much more dark and final than the fear faced by Foster Parents Hoping to Adopt. But the chance of losing your beloved child to strange and unstable birth parents can cause deep fear and sorrow, too.

So, I stand in solidarity with Cancer Parents. I don’t know the depths you’ve been through, and I don’t in some twisted way wish for myself the unasked-for trial you find yourselves in, but I know a little of fear and grief when it comes to one’s children. Because of this bit of knowledge, I would like to help spread the awareness of Childhood Cancer.

Once again: September is Childhood Cancer Awareness Month. As September closes, let’s remain aware of this horrible disease and the children, parents, siblings, grandparents, aunts and uncles affected by it.

To read some of the stories I have read about Childhood Cancer, go to the following blogs:
Brevis
Mary Tyler Mom

I especially recommend you read:
The Beautiful Ugly by a Cancer Mom

Leave a Reply

