From Frailty to Strength

Leave a comment

October 4, 2013 by greenhouse04

I’ve felt pretty frail lately.

My abdominal muscles were cut in half and my insides tinkered with, so I guess it’s no wonder that I have no “core” strength and have a delicate stomach right now. But it’s not fun walking through my day feeling like a shadow, a low-battery version of my former self.

I was so strong back then! I weighed more, had more muscle, could be hugged and jumped on without protecting my tummy or crying out in pain. I could exercise, gorge myself, run, carry whatever I could lift…. I was healthy!

I know this won’t last. Someday I’ll be back to normal. I’ll be able to exercise again, run again, carry Emma again. Hopefully someday I’ll even be able to gorge myself again. This thought encourages me. I’m young, healthy over-all, and (if God wills it) have a long life ahead of me.

Another frail woman stood to give a devotional last night at our women’s supper. She had pure white hair and skin wrinkled with age. She wore thick glasses and stood with a stoop. She was self-admittedly the oldest woman in the room. In the back of my mind I was thinking, At least I still have many years ahead… at least I have the hope of regaining my strength. I’m not frail and facing the end of my life at the same time.

Then she read from Isaiah 40, verses 30 and 31:

Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. The will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

As she spoke I looked at this frail woman. How could she speak of walking with no faintness, running with no weariness, even soaring with the strength of an eagle?! I’m only 30, and even I don’t have this strength!

The answer to this is found in the other verses of Isaiah 40.

Why do you say, [O me], and complain [O young one], “My way is hidden from the Lord; my cause is disregarded by my God?”

Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom.

He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.

This is the answer. While I hope for regained earthly strength, a woman like her can only hope in the everlasting God, Creator of the ends of the earth. What a hope!

Someday I will also come to the place when my frailty can only end in death. May I also (even today!) hope in the everlasting God, the Creator, Jesus Christ, who gives eternal life. In him we find strength that defies all logic. Someday, despite the fact that my frail, worn-out, finished body gave its last breath and is decaying on earth, my soul will be walking, running, soaring with the strength of eagles.

DianasFlyingEagle

Leave a Reply

