A Fateful Decision

Leave a comment

November 2, 2013 by greenhouse04

We made a quick decision one Thursday afternoon, and because of that our daughter turned three yesterday.

If we hadn’t made that decision, someone else would’ve been celebrating their daughter’s birthday. It’s flabbergasting how one little decision can change your life completely and forever.

Last night, Mr. and I sat on our bed, exhausted after two big evenings (Halloween followed by birthday party), talking about our sweet Emma. We were both remembering that fateful day, November 4th, 2010, when we got “the phone call” about a newborn needing a home. It seems like that day was just yesterday.

Eddie was 2 and had been with us only a month. He was gone to visit his birth mom. I was laying on the couch with a stomach-ache. Mr. answered the phone.

A couple minutes later, he hung up the phone and told me there was a newborn in the hospital who needed a home. Our social worker didn’t know the baby’s name, nor it’s gender (she thought it was a boy). The baby probably had health problems due to drugs found in his/her system.

Our first reaction was to say no. We didn’t feel capable of caring for a baby going through drug-withdrawal. And on a much more frivolous note, I wanted a girl!

I spent the next half-hour imagining bringing home a newborn while also caring for a 2-year-old. The main thing I thought about was going shopping alone with both kids. I just shake my head and chuckle when I think about that now!!

Finally, I decided that a solo shopping trip with two very small children would be do-able. Therefore, I decided that if the baby was a girl I’d like to say yes.

Honestly, I don’t remember anything spiritual about our decision. We prayed about it, of course. But the second phone call from our social worker is what decided us. She called and… the baby was a girl! Not only that, but she was being discharged from the hospital at the very moment because her health was good! She had no noticable withdrawal symptoms.

So, we said yes! Little did we know that we weren’t only saying yes to fostering a newborn, but to at least three years of the love and joy a daughter would bring!

As soon as Eddie got home, we hopped back in the van and headed to the Emergency Shelter where Emma was staying. We walked in the through the double doors, down the wide hall, and in through more doors. The ladies at the desk greeted us and said, “You must be here to pick up the baby!” Then they brought her out.

There she was, a tiny, white, round face swathed in blankets. The ladies laughed at her sleeping form. “We tried to get her to open her eyes. She just wants to sleep! She’s a sweetie!!” I held her 6-pound body to my chest and carried her out of the shelter to our car. I can still remember carrying her down that hall, the emotions of love, joy, and pride already blossoming in my heart. I didn’t want to put her in the carseat.

The rest is history. We spent another year praying and worrying and hoping that she would become forever our own. And now she is.

That little decision on that Thursday afternoon three years ago turned out to be a huge decision. And though we didn’t feel “spiritual” in making it, I absolutely know that the Lord was guiding us the whole way. We thank you, Lord, for Emma.

Blog2Blog4Blog5

»

Leave a Reply

