The Troubles of Emma

2

June 11, 2015 by greenhouse04

Today has been tough for little Em-Bug.

She was supposed to go to the cabin with Grandma and Grandpa today. She was very excited to go with just them, not with Mommy and Daddy. But, she’s had a bad cold for several days, and yesterday the doctor diagnosed bronchitis for both kids, and is testing them for whooping cough (don’t worry – they’re immunized!). So today she was sick… and sad.

I could tell she was having a hard day because she kept getting into trouble for fighting with her brother. Toward supper-time, she started getting hyper, and at the same time withdrawing from me – a sure sign something is going on in her little heart. I spent some time with her, teaching her how to play Mahjong on the computer. At one point she made a comment about her birth mom, and we talked about her for a while.

At supper, she continued to be spastic, getting up from the table constantly. The only way she ate was if I fed her. I could tell something was still bothering her. Sure enough, at one point she asked why she couldn’t see her “Mama N.” (birth mom). I tenderly explained the reasons, and she got a faraway, sad expression. It breaks my heart, but all I can do is tell her the truth (at her level) and offer support as she processes it.

After supper she was still in a hyper, disconnected mood. Finished with the dishes, I went out to the living room where she was jumping around, drew her into my arms, and asked her to tell me what was bothering her, preparing myself for another heart-to-heart about her other mother. She looked at me very seriously and said anxiously,

“I don’t want to stand on the stage when I get married.”

(!!!)

You just never know what may be troubling your young child.  🙂

2 thoughts on “The Troubles of Emma

  1. Jackie says:

    This was heartbreaking, adorable, and funny all at once. I think my Emma would say the same thing, however she doesn’t plan to ever get married.

    You probably didn’t mean to be funny, but I laughed at the disclaimer about them being vaccinated. People get really intense about that topic and make assumptions, to the point where mentioning you child may have a disease we have a vaccine for triggers quite the unwanted response!

    I’ll be thinking of you and hoping the kids come back negative for whooping cough.

Leave a Reply

